Exit, Stage Left


With a flourish, I take a bow

Bend down in a graceful sway, and wonder now

Do I look up and straight into their eyes?

Or do I wait for the veil to fall and then rise?

The velvet folds have by then come to a close

Palms sweaty with fear, my anticipation grows

I gave it my all…my heart and soul

Will they applaud…or cry out foul?

I hear hushed murmurs outside

With dread crippling me from inside

A thud and a roll…the plush barrier sets in motion again

Is this hunger justified? Or am I being plain vain?

We perform for them… but it is for us we act

A true to self, honest-to-god, creative pact

They say, an artist’s prize lies in this agony and pain

I ponder….

When the screen of maroon parts, what I lose or stand to gain.

(SHORTLISTED IN WORDWEAVERS POETRY CONTEST 2014)

~ by eugenicist on November 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
