RIP Mehdi Hassan


This is for all my friends who are discovering and seeking to appreciate urdu/hindi shayari. The poet is Ahmed Faraz and it was sung amongst others by the very talented Mehdi Hassan, who passed away recently. An absolutely beautiful rendition of pathos, love, loss and desperation into words… and strung equally beautifully into musical notes by a voice unparalleld.

I have had it in my player for about 3-4 years now, and there were days I used to listen to this atleast 3 times every night…

I have translated some of it in English to the best of my understanding:

Ranjish hi sahi dil hi dukhane ke liye aa
Aa fir se mujhe chhod ke jaane ke liye aa
Ranjish hi sahi…………

(Ranjish is enmity. Be it for the sake of revenge/enmity..come to me once, even if it is just to leave me again.)

Pahle se marasim naa sahi fir bhi kabhi to
Rasmo rahe duniya hi nibhane ke liye aa
Ranjish hi sahi…………

(We might not be together like we used to be earlier….atleast come once for the sake of social bonhomie)

Kis kis ko batayenge judai ka sabab hum
Tu mujhse khafa hai to zamane ke liye aa
Ranjish hi sahi…………

(Sabab is reason. To who all will I explain and justify the reasons for our seperation. Come once for the sake of the world, if not me.)

Kuch to mere pindar-e-mohabbat ka bharam rakh
Tu bhi to kabhi mujhko manane ke liye aa
Ranjish hi sahi…………

(Pindar is pride. Help me retain atleast some illusion of the love I was so proud of. For once, you come to me.)

Ik umr se hoon lazate giriya se bhi mehroom
Aye raahate jaan mujhko rulane ke liye aa
Ranjish hi sahi…………

(Even the taste of sadness has eluded me for some time now. Come, even if just to make me cry..to make me feel something…anything)

~ by eugenicist on June 15, 2012.

One Response to “RIP Mehdi Hassan”

  1. Urdu literary magazines are a great introduction to the young and fresh voices in Urdu. One can observe there a constant process of experimentation in language and expression. Short story writer Ali Akbar Natiq, one of Urdu’s most important new voices, and Muhammad Khalid Toor who is the most important newly rediscovered voice have been introduced by Urdu literary magazines.

Leave a Reply

 
