A Tryst With History


The ride was long…and the terrain was dusty.

We went on deeper into the cold of the sprawling North, hoping to make it on time.

A bumpy rickshaw ride, a persuasive tout and serpentine queues of erratic crowds later we reached our destination.

The first glimpse was mesmerizing, the stature of it was awesome. And the company I was in made it all the more wonderful.

We set about clicking random shots, desperate to capture as much as we could of this day.

My feet hurt, owing to the heels I had forced myself into. But the sunlit view of the Taj was worth the effort.

The power of history lies in its ability to awe and intrigue us.

The fact that one man went on to such heights of maddened craze, so as to hire and then chop the hands of over 20,000 artisans who had helped raise this beautiful edifice, was beyond my reasoning.

And..he did it all for the love of one woman??

I turned around and posed this question to Him, who accompanied me in this sojourn. An impish smile played on His lips, as He answered without batting an eyelid.. “I just hope to prove myself as a good husband…I promise no more.”

I couldn’t help but laugh at the honest admission.

We took off our shoes and roamed around barefoot on the blissfully cool marble spread beneath us, before clicking a parting shot of the white wonder that stood before our eyes.

The journey was long, and the effort was much…but the memories of it were all we mused over as we drove homeward into the setting sun.

Megha Sharma

~ by eugenicist on December 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “A Tryst With History”

  1. love this one,

    it hits home, beautifully constructed work.
    keep it up.

  2. Lovely thought..lovely pen portrayal of it. :o)

  3. Oh, the image .. I so bad want to go there, you now made me dream of traveling and exploring new lands!

    I’d like to wish you a Merry Christmas and to say thank you for the support to Jingle Poetry, with you standing beside us, we are able to continue our efforts by providing the platform for poets who share and encourage…BEST wishes for the year 2011…your poetry has enlightened our community and made us smile.

    Blessings fly your way, Happy Holidays!

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you on Sunday Poetry Potluck again, let me know if you have questions..old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome..

    week 15 theme: reflections, interpretations, and musings.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

 
