A Blue Rose


Megha Sharma

I stood amid the ruins of a thousand million trees

I stood in the midst of a land of tired, broken streams

***

I stood there as some whittled away in pain

I stood there as others got washed away in the rain

***

I stood there in wonder over what all I had seen

I stood there to bemoan the lark that I had been

***

I stood there as life kept milling around me still

I stood there envying the clouds that moved at will

***

I wonder if some day I will also feel

The hands that promise more than just mere needs

~ by eugenicist on April 19, 2010.

16 Responses to “A Blue Rose”

  1. very nice post…very surreal!

  2. Nice poem & an attractive page you got!!

  3. Hey Megha, what do you mean “The hands that promise more than just mere needs” ? Do not you have anyone around to extend their helping hand when you are in need or trouble, or it is just a line to end this sweet poem sweeter.

    • Hey Ramya
      Hope you liked the piece…
      What I meant with the last line was that thr are those who will fulfill your needs..those who will get what you ask them to get for you…family, friends.
      I am looking for a pair of hands that will also take heed of my desires…and not mere needs. And this is what will differentiate them from all the others 🙂

      Cheers
      Megha

  4. for she hopes to find those arms to hold her tight
    winds in her ears whispering words
    make her say little miss M learn to given in sometime

    gr8

  5. …presently in awe!!!
    Thank you for this…very nice! Happy Potluck!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/the-farming-of-nature/

  6. The repetition of ‘I stood’ is strong and hold the piece firmly. Enjoyed this one, and found it to be quite evocative

    Regards

    Luke

    (mine are here –
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/11/26/descent-2/
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/64/
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/mud-pies/

  7. cheers to you my friend if you are the same meg that i know!

  8. What a poem…
    Fantastic + fabulous = Fantabulous 😀
    I love this piece so much 🙂

  9. Dear Megha

    The needs are like rivers that need to be submerged into ocean of detachment to be free from them… I liked the way you brought it all together in the end…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  10. I wonder if one day I will also feel … may you always feel whatever your soul desires. Lovely post here!

  11. Greetings! How r u?

    You are invited to join our potluck week 13 at Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Write a poem fitting our week 13 theme (Dreams, Visions, Reveries), post it, and link in to our potluck, you are also allowed to link in unrelated poems. we are open Sunday, 8pm, American central time.

    We have had so much fun having you last week. I cannot wait seeing you on coming Monday again.

    Let me know if you have questions.

    Have A Weekend As Graceful As Your Writing!

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

 
