My Big Fat Indian Headche


Megha Sharma

Doomed was the day when my dearest brother decided to tie the knot the age-old Indian way!

My mother was gleeful, my future sister-in-law all smiles, and me? I was queasy. “Shits! this is finally happening.”

I began the arduous task of belling this cat with zest and vigour, which soon dwindled in face of suffocatingly-busy Chandni Chowk lanes, squabbling tailors and gut-wrenching traffic snarls.

The invites, the venue, the menu, the transport, the tent, the band, the flowers,ย  the trousseau, the beautician, the photographer…..freaking details began crowding the walls of my brain as it threatened to explode with all that planning.

All these and many more such pressing issues swamped me and my mother, as we sat bemused – wondering from where exactly to start unravelling this behemoth.

Offers of help poured in from far and beyond, only to be discarded hastily when actually contacted for some ๐Ÿ˜›

To add insult to injury, my US-based bhaiiyaa (poor soul, he did try his best to be early) has now decided to turn up for his own wedding three days prior to D-Day!And we both can do zilch about it…

So, here’s to April 14 and the incomparable great Indian tamasha!

~ by eugenicist on March 26, 2010.

3 Responses to “My Big Fat Indian Headche”

  1. I don’t know why you called it my My big fat Indian headache
    shaadi is most important part of most of Indian life

    • Hey Larka

      I agree with you that it is the most important day of most peoples’ lives, but preparing for an Indian wedding – specially not your own – is a headache indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cheers
      Megs

  2. I’ll be there to lend you a shoulder-ful of support on D-day ๐Ÿ˜€ Right there with ya girl!!!

Leave a Reply

 
