In The Realm of Grey


Megha Sharma

“The art of holding back and more so of letting go, will always remain just that – an art.”

Calm, serene and unwavering. Nah…that will not be, whispered my adventurous heart to me! And I cried wolf!

Call it cowardly, call it delusional, call it ignorant, call it being willfully blind. Securing myself form a situation that has the potential to hurt is an instinct that always came naturally to me.

I did deviate from my chosen path for a while, only to be reprimanded and led back into the fold of those who hold back. Those who believe in the sanctity of the personal space. Those who have faith in walls and their capacity to, if not prevent, at least delay  heartbreak.

But, deviate I did. And, disastrously so…  🙂

Many say, better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. I say, please go give it a try and then get back to me!

You see, I have now come to realise that my grandmother was so right when she said there is a right time for everything.

There is a time to abandon it all. There is a time to let your hair down. There is a time to be carefree…to be sporty enough to take a free fall.

But, then there also comes a time when you need to step back. And if you don’t pay heed to then…there soon follows a time when you need to – nay – must let go.

Life teaches well…but, it also does so the hard way. Is it then so wrong to play safe? Or, is experience really its own reward?

Maybe yes, maybe no. I, for one, will never have a confirmed answer to that – or to so many other such questions that defy any resolution.

The final word in this existential debate: There is a Black, and there is a White and Life is what happens to you somewhere in between…somewhere in the realm of Grey.

~ by eugenicist on February 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “In The Realm of Grey”

  1. You singin my song, girl !!

    Havin said that, I find most of my greys being the result of choices gone more awry-er than I thot they would.
    Which is to mean, they were kinda awry in the first place….

    The stolen kiss syndrome – my pet name for it 🙂

  2. Luv u gurl…. so beautiful and true..

  3. Beautiful..so true lines thse “Many say, better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. I say, please go give it a try and then get back to me!”

Leave a Reply

 
