This Is It…


Megha Sharma

“Happiness is not a brilliant climax to years of grim struggle and anxiety. It is a long succession of little decisions simply to be happy in the moment.”  — J Donald Walters

The rhythm of life is hard to keep pace with. Or, so I thought to myself till sometime back.

The ride was getting harder for me – it was taxing my nerves and I was beginning to feel heady with random details crowding my insides. Plans gone awry, unforseen events, an aching heart.

But, then the moment caught up with me. I had left it somewhere in the past, when future was all that I was lusting after.

That concept of living in the moment, seeking pleasure in the present through the means of little gestures, was something I had given up doing.

Happiness is fickle by its very nature. That being the case, it is futile to keep sacrificing your life in the present at its altar, with some grand future goal egging you on.

I was somebody who believed in putting it all into trying to make the ‘plans’ work. I was somebody who did exactly that for a good 15 years of her life. But, I am not that somebody anymore.

I still nurture hope. I still envision a better future for myself. The only difference is, that now I live within a shorter purview. I try living for the everyday. I try living for the now…

~ by eugenicist on November 12, 2009.

One Response to “This Is It…”

  1. Happiness is not something you find. It’s something you manufacture.

Leave a Reply

 
