Poetic justice it was (a very short story)


Megha Sharma

Was it bad timing or sheer rotten luck? wondered Neesa. Neither, whispered a small but persistent voice in her head. It was a rare case of Divine Retribution, also known as poetic justice.

The realisation of the same hit Neesa in the gut like a fist. She was long afraid that that might have been the case as she lay staring at the ceiling for days on end, with tears trickling down the side of her face.

Utter desolation swept over the frail-looking young woman as she wiped the perspiration off her brow.

So this was it, this was God’s way of reprimanding her to be careful about what one wished for. All she had wanted was to secure some succour for her mother, whom she could clearly see reeling under the effort of taking care of Neesa’s long-ailing father.

In her wish to see her mother relieved, Neesa had inadvertently brought on an untimely end to her beloved father’s life. Or so she believed to be true.

In the aftermath of that tragedy of magnum proportion, Neesa witnessed her mother struggle day in and day out, trying to deal with a loss she could barely comprehend.  The loss of a husband, a companion of 27 years.

Taking care of her father, though exacting, was all that Neesa’s mothers’ life revolved around. And once freed of that task, she hardly knew what to do with herself.

Had she, Neesa, been indirectly responsible for inflicting this pain unto her mother and the rest of her family? Had somebody taken her wish to put an end to their misery to mean an early death for her father?

And, was this the reason for her own heartache and the miserable failure of her endeavour to secure the affections of the one guy she had truly fallen for?

The lovelorn girl pictured God deep in thought, finally deciding to etch her punishment in stone. “Quid Pro Quo,” he uttered with a small sigh.

Neesa was rendered numb.

She knew she had to get out of this, conquer this for once and for all because it would be stupid to wallow in grief for the rest of her life over it.

One’s life is one’s own to alter and improve. Beyond a point, there are only a couple of people who are truly affected by what happens to you.

Placing her conviction in this adage, Neesa vowed to try once again to let this pass, and live in the moment for herself and those chosen few whom she knew would be glad to see her smiling at all times.

~ by eugenicist on October 1, 2009.

9 Responses to “Poetic justice it was (a very short story)”

  1. people always find a way to blame themselves at such times … well written !!

  2. This is my first time here. Your writing is so soulful…
    Psst: Am a subscriber now and will go hunting into your blog later.
    Cheers

  3. I dont know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  4. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  5. Hi, this is not a comment on this post, it is though on your ‘Me, Myself and Irony’ article on NDTV Good Times.
    Didn’t want to put in my penny’s worth (or worthless) on the site, hence am here.

    Loved the title, for one.

    One simple question – I ask this in spite of what you have written as being on the horns of one too many dilemnas….
    Would you have it any other way?

    I wouldn’t coz I just enjoy the tension. Makes living all the more worthwhile.
    My thots.

    Crawling back into my hole.

    Cheers

    C.

  6. …..am a little distracted today, hence my wandering around your blog 🙂
    Read another one of your NDTV pieces, the one on Chivalry.

    Was truly gratifed to know that it CAN still be appreciated.

    I think the chivalrous among us – and I will firmly consider myself ensconced in this category of male – do think twice nowadays coz the gesture might be construed as ‘gettin fresh’ when all one was doing was what came naturally.

    The ‘nouveau’ male probably thinks it as un-macho and maybe brash is the mantra of the day.

    Yet….am hoping I never change !

    • Lol…I hope so too Chris. If you are one of the rare existing ones, try keeping yourself the same. The intelligent amongst us women do appreciate one 🙂

      • Will do. I appreciate the intelligentsia too 😉

        Saw your piece on metrosexuality. All I can say is that you are singin my song. Again !!

        Bully for you………..

Leave a Reply

 
