Blindfolded..and loving it


Megha Sharma

A tongue that slays and soothes with equal ease, razor sharp witticisms, a persona that is saucy and sweet at the same time… Sighhh! The list of accomplishments I seek for myself is getting evermore elusive with each passing day. First on, my essential nature refuses to ebb and secondly the age factor is not coming to my aid either.

Twenty-six and counting, birthdays have now taken on an ominous gloom and despite my best efforts to shop the pall away, I nevertheless find myself wondering about all the grand and some not so grand plans I had made for myself.

A couple of days back, a dear friend of mine who is blessed with a cynical bent to his thought process, argued that life as we know it is not worth living at all. And that the prerequisites for a “happy” existense in these chaotic times are myopia (short-sightedness) and willful ignorance.

Now though I disagreed with him in principle, partly because I believe in the spirit to live and in part because I just had to argue with him, he did make me think of my reasons to exist in a world totally devoid of the concept of justice.

I like living in the moment. It is not possible all the time, but it is the only viable means to justify me being “happy” in my own way or even ending the day with a smile when I don’t have any reason to.

Brooding over the ‘what if’ and the ‘may be’, ‘the just’ and ‘the fair’ gets me nowhere.

So, I close my eyes, and just go on. Fight the auto wallahs day in and day out, crib over the lack of etiquette in Indian men, curse the hostility of Delhizens each time I go for a night out, yet end up beginning the next morning with renewed hope of a better day in passing.

My friend calls it deluding oneself, I prefer to call it momentary bliss courtesy myopia..

~ by eugenicist on July 21, 2009.

4 Responses to “Blindfolded..and loving it”

  1. […] Did some quick vintage tones in Lightroom on this one. Warmer whitebalance, less saturation etc. Blindfolded..and loving it – eugenicist.wordpress.com 07/21/2009 A tongue that slays and soothes with equal ease, razor […]

  2. “There must be some way out of here,” said the joker to the thief,
    “There’s too much confusion, I can’t get no relief.
    Businessmen, they drink my wine, plowmen dig my earth,
    None of them along the line know what any of it is worth.”

    “No reason to get excited,” the thief, he kindly spoke,
    “There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.
    But you and I, we’ve been through that, and this is not our fate,
    So let us not talk falsely now, the hour is getting late.”

    Bob Dylan, All Along The Watchtower

  3. Living in the moment is the best way to live, otherwise you will bogged down by all the negativities of the past and the future – What all went wrong and what all could go wrong.

    Love your style of writing..

Leave a Reply

 
